The Galactic Senate: Part 4 Pod Housing Base And Wall.

So first initially this project was started with the intention of being a single model, however due to request I will be making this into a full senate map. Continue following this blog to see all the behind the scenes of how the entire map is being made. A lot of the techniques i’m using to create the rest of the map I covered in making the pod itself however I will still show roughly how i’m making each model.

so first for the base housing of the pod, I created a very tiny cube. This Cube I then lined up roughly where the housing will meet the back of the pod.

extending the cube out to approximately the desired length of the pod to where I want the door frame for the wall. (this will be adjusted later its just to give a bit of a visual while I model.)

next I extended the side face of the cube to be a little past where the side cylinder of the pod is.

and finally I translated the bottom face of the cube to be just below where the side cylinder of the pod is. This gave me roughly the shape of the top of the housing.

next I put two slices into the bottom face of my cube this is so I can extend a angle out of it later.

I actually screwed up so i deleted one of the slices and simply dragged the other one until I had roughly this shape.

finally I duplicated that bottom face and translated it both down and forward until it had approximately the angle im looking for.

I drew one edge at the bottom of this angle so I could create the middle.

then simply duplicated it and moved it until its position was 0 along the x axis. I then deleted the poly face where it wasnt needed (when this welds we dont want artifacts inside the model)

next I created a grid and placed it behind this shape roughly where i would want my wall (this was created more or less for a guide so I knew everything was lining up)

next I placed a new cube underneath the pod, this will be the place where the pod rests.

I then duplicated the bottom face, translated and rotated it until this nice curve was put into the cube.

I repeated this process one more time until this sort of cubic torus shape was made.

going back to the front of the model I duplicated the front face and scaled it down til I had this smaller rectangle on the inside.

I then duplicated it again and translated it backwards to make this rectangular indent.

duplicating the entire base so face I starting working on a high res model to bake my normals. I started by adding a few new edges to get two more rectangular boxes on the top face.

after translating and scaling them I wanted these two desired shapes.

next I drew more edges around where my pod would be sitting (I selected the polys im adjusting the help visualize where im going)

and again I simply duplicated them, scaled them down and translated them inwards to make this nice indent.

and finally the same process, I drew more edges on this side of my base, translated scaled them inwards until I had my full desired shape.

after completing this process this is roughly how my high res base looked for the pod (notice I hid the pod in this screenshot)

next for the high res stand portion i simply slice the polygon vertically until I had a number of subdivisions.

I then simply dragged the subdivisions up to make this nice curved shape with the two lanes in the middle.

then sliced these sections in the middle a number of times so I could make grooves later on.

after duplicating and dragging each of these sections this was the approximate shape i was left with on my high res model

finally I applied this really basic texture to the standard model and baked the normals with my high resolution model.

I then applied my normal map to the model, and one the texture and the newly baked normal map were on I checked to make sure it all looked right in my render preview.

Once I had my render where I wanted it I simply baked a rendermap to finish my texture.

and finally after making the base symmetric this was how we looked with the newly baked texture.

for the back wall I first duplicated the base so i could make sure I knew roughly where I needed the wall to curve (remember this will be a cylindrical taper of a room)

and the back grid I used as a template earlier I simply dragged the edge to the bottom of the bases angle.

I then drew a few edges around where I want the walls door to be (note this is going to be a temporary thing for now, once I figure out how my finished halls will be designed the door and textures will change)

I then duplicated this polygon and dragged it backwards to create the hall and door.

next for the high res door I started by seperating the door into the segments I want with different shades.

and i drew a bunch of edges for around where I want my high resolution door frame itself.

finally after the different segments were in and all my edges were drawn I dragged and scaled all my desired poly faces to make my grooves.

within edge I applied the texture I want to use to bake my high res normal map.

after applying all my new edges and translating all my surfaces this was what my back wall looked like for the high resolution model.

after baking the textures and the normal maps for both the walls and the base this is what we look like in game.

Now with the base and wall complete and ingame our next task will to be to start to duplicated some of the pods, bases and walls into rows so we can create a proper lighting and shadow map. This will be covered in our next part.

If you enjoyed reading this and wish to help support this project and future project within this blog, you can click this text to donate to the blog.

Leave a comment